Back to top
National Council

American Prairie’s National Council is comprised of distinguished leaders from all walks of life, including business, science, conservation, philanthropy and the arts. These prairie champions serve as American Prairie’s ambassadors, raising awareness for our mission and helping build a network of like-minded enthusiasts for the project.


Stephenie Ambrose-Tubbs
Author, The Lewis and Clark Companion

David Beal
Strategic Management Consultant

Diana Beattie
Diana Beattie Interiors

Dorothy Bradley
Former Montana Legislator

David Coulter
Vice Chairman, Warburg Pincus LLC

Eric Dinerstein
World Wildlife Fund

Tom France
Regional Executive Director, National Wildlife Federation

Curt Freese
Conservation Biologist

Randy Gray
Retired Attorney and former Mayor
Great Falls, Montana

Hilary Heminway
Hilary Heminway Interiors

John Heminway
Writer, Filmmaker, Travel Advisor

Kathryn Wilmerding Heminway

Christian Hohenlohe
Former Smithsonian Institution Treasurer
Private Investments

Nora Hohenlohe
Retired National Geographic Society Attorney

George Horse Capture, Jr.
Gros Ventre/White Clay People
Executive Director, One Step Further

Harry Howard
Yellowstone Traditions

Matt Lavin
Montana State University

Paul Matteucci
Managing Member, U. S. Venture Partners

Donal O’Brien
Managing Principal, Entry Point Capital
Board Chair, National Wildlife Refuge Association

Dorothy Patent
Author and Naturalist

Robert Righter

Audrey Rust
President Emeritus, Peninsula Open Space Trust

Edward M. Schmults
CEO, Wild Things, LLC
Trustee, National Outdoor Leadership School (NOLS)

E. Donnall Thomas, Jr.

Gordon Wiltsie